Skip to content
  • Post a Score
  • Club Officials
  • Volunteers
SCGA-Logo-Blue
    • About Us
    • Core Services
    • Board of Directors
    • WHS Hub
    • Volunteers
    • Golf Education
    • Become a Member
    • Renew
    • Start a Club
    • Find a Club
    • Multi-Member Rebate
    • Membership FAQs
    • Championships & Qualifiers
    • Member Outings
    • Team Play
    • Women's Team Play
    • Players League
    • One-Day Series
    • SCGA Junior Golf Foundation
    • Advocacy
    • FORE Her
Join Now
SCGA-Logo-Blue
    • About Us
    • Core Services
    • Board of Directors
    • WHS Hub
    • Volunteers
    • Golf Education
    • Become a Member
    • Renew
    • Start a Club
    • Find a Club
    • Multi-Member Rebate
    • Membership FAQs
    • Championships & Qualifiers
    • Member Outings
    • Team Play
    • Women's Team Play
    • Players League
    • One-Day Series
    • SCGA Junior Golf Foundation
    • Advocacy
    • FORE Her
Join Now

Writely Wedged: When Your Ball Glues Itself to the Bunker’s Face

September 3, 2025

You stride up, confident and composed, only to find your ball cheekily nestled in the steep turf face above the bunker—visible, stubborn, and begging for attention. Before panic sets in, pause and channel your inner rules guru!

The Rulebook to the Rescue

According to Rule 16.3b, if your ball is embedded in the bunker’s face, lip, or wall, it’s not considered in the bunker proper—this lies in the general area. That means free embedded-ball relief is yours for the taking.

Here’s what to do next:

  • Identify your reference point right behind where the ball is embedded.

  • Drop the ball within one club length, making sure it’s:

    1. Not nearer the hole,

    2. In the general area (not in the bunker).

If that drop fails—because the face is too steep and the ball won’t stick—Rule 14.2e lets you re-drop. If it still won’t settle, place it at the nearest spot where it will—and that becomes your new ball position.

When Nature Just Won’t Cooperate

If free relief turns into a circus and the ball remains stubbornly lodged—welcome the unplayable ball options under Rule 19.3:

  • Stroke-and-distance (back to the last hit point),

  • Back-on-the-line relief (even if it’s still inside the bunker),

  • Lateral relief (within the bunker),

  • Or, take a one-stroke penalty to drop outside the bunker—sometimes the cleverest choice of all.

The Humorous Takeaway

So next time your ball picks its own dramatic napping spot on the bunker face, don’t throw in the towel—play the rulebook. With a wink and a one-club-length drop, you might just laugh in the face of physics and rules alike.

  • Quick Links
    • Post a Score
    • Handicap Index Lookup
    • Course Handicap Calculator
    • Event Policies
    • Player of the Year
    • Contact Us
    • Careers
  • Resources
    • SCGA Volunteer Portal
    • Club Admin Hub
    • Club Official Digest
    • Educational Webinars
    • Find a Course
    • Team California
    • Advertise with Us
  • Rules of Golf
    • USGA Rules Hub
    • Quizzes
    • Rules Workshops
    • Rules 101
    • Rules Videos
    • Amateur Status
  • World Handicap System
    • WHS Hub
    • Rules of Handicapping
    • Course Rating
    • Handicap Certification
    • Handicap FAQs
  • Content
    • SCGA Blog
    • SCGA TV
    • Fore Magazine
    • Fore Her
2012_scga_primary_name_white - Edited-1
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

© 2025, Southern California Golf Association