During a match, my opponent hit his second shot way into the woods. He then played a provisional, which he hit four feet from the pin — and immediately declared his first ball lost, without searching for it. I saw his ball as I walked to the green, grabbed it and gave it to him, but he refused to identify it. He recorded a 5, but was that allowed? —David Pulcini, via email
Is your opponent’s gambit cunning? Yes. Is it allowed? Goodness, no.
See Clarification 18.3c(2)/2 regarding a player searching for/an opponent finding their ball as well as the last paragraph of Rule 18.3, which puts failing to make reasonable efforts to identify a ball that may be one’s original into the category of potential serious misconduct, with a penalty of disqualification. Ours is the great game of honor, not stratagems.
For more provisional-ball guidance from our guru, read on …