Skip to content
  • Post a Score
  • Club Officials
  • Volunteers
SCGA-Logo-Blue
    • About Us
    • Core Services
    • Board of Directors
    • WHS Hub
    • Volunteers
    • Golf Education
    • Become a Member
    • Renew
    • Start a Club
    • Find a Club
    • Multi-Member Rebate
    • Membership FAQs
    • Championships & Qualifiers
    • Member Outings
    • Team Play
    • Women's Team Play
    • Players League
    • One-Day Series
    • SCGA Junior Golf Foundation
    • Advocacy
    • FORE Her
Join Now
SCGA-Logo-Blue
    • About Us
    • Core Services
    • Board of Directors
    • WHS Hub
    • Volunteers
    • Golf Education
    • Become a Member
    • Renew
    • Start a Club
    • Find a Club
    • Multi-Member Rebate
    • Membership FAQs
    • Championships & Qualifiers
    • Member Outings
    • Team Play
    • Women's Team Play
    • Players League
    • One-Day Series
    • SCGA Junior Golf Foundation
    • Advocacy
    • FORE Her
Join Now

Hey Rules Crew: The WIND blew his ball in!

September 3, 2025

Picture this: after a majestic tee shot, you hit your second, a towering 9-iron pin seeker.  It lands 15 feet past the hole, spins back and stops overhanging the hole. While the hole-out would have been a story to take back to the 19th hole, what ensues next will etch this one in the history books...

Your playing partner, we'll call him Bob, proceeds to make a mess of the hole. After his drive, he hits it in the water and takes a drop. He tops the next two (hey a least the ball is getting closer to the hole) and in what seems like a stroke of luck he knocks his 50-yard pitch to two feet for a tap-in triple. As you watched the mess unfold, and laughed out loud over your opponent's ridiculous Happy Gilmore-esque celebration, a gust of wind pops up and nudges your ball just enough to get it moving...it drops! 

Bob (who claims to be your club's Thomas Pagel) immediately cites Rule 13.3a claiming that an unreasonable amount of time had passed since you took your last shot and requires that a penalty stroke be added forcing you to mark a 3 on the card instead of a 2.

Unfortunately for your opponent, he clearly only read the "Player's Edition" of the Rules of Golf. Had he truly held the knowledge of Thomas Pagel he would known that Clarification 13.3a/1 specifically defines "reasonable time:"

Determining the limits of a reasonable time to reach the hole depends on the circumstances of the stroke and includes time for a player’s natural or spontaneous reaction to the ball not going into the hole.

For example, a player may have played the shot from well off the putting green and it may take them several minutes to reach the hole while other players play their shots and all walk to the putting green. Or, the player  may need to take an indirect route to the hole by walking around the line of play of another player on the putting green.

Looks like the mess Bob made ultimately made this hole a 5-shot swing instead of 3...doesn't seem like it would have mattered anyways!

  • Quick Links
    • Post a Score
    • Handicap Index Lookup
    • Course Handicap Calculator
    • Event Policies
    • Player of the Year
    • Contact Us
    • Careers
  • Resources
    • SCGA Volunteer Portal
    • Club Admin Hub
    • Club Official Digest
    • Educational Webinars
    • Find a Course
    • Team California
    • Advertise with Us
  • Rules of Golf
    • USGA Rules Hub
    • Quizzes
    • Rules Workshops
    • Rules 101
    • Rules Videos
    • Amateur Status
  • World Handicap System
    • WHS Hub
    • Rules of Handicapping
    • Course Rating
    • Handicap Certification
    • Handicap FAQs
  • Content
    • SCGA Blog
    • SCGA TV
    • Fore Magazine
    • Fore Her
2012_scga_primary_name_white - Edited-1
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

© 2025, Southern California Golf Association